Author Topic: Thoughts on Gensokyo  (Read 26154 times)

Vael

• Weaver of Illusions, Shaman of Dreams
Thoughts on Gensokyo
« on: May 30, 2012, 12:40:25 PM »
After one too many Touhou SI stories, I wanna take a shot at trying to figure out how an average joe (myself in this case) would try to live/survive in Gensokyo and their views/notes made during this time. Please note:
1) I'm not Japanese, I'm still learning to write Japanese, I've never been to Japan, but I've read up on their Culture quite a bit...it still does not compare to actually experiencing the Culture first hand though.
2) Since I'll be basing this on the SI, I'll be preserving my knowledge of Touhou, however, I am yet to read the latest fanbook.
3) I'm a village/small town boy from Southern Africa, I've learned a few things about survival (none of which are applicable to Gensokyo *sigh*), learned how to shoot a rifle (fair shot), and I'm tad out of shape and have a weak body in general.
4) I'm really, really spiritual, and according to a guy my dad knows, traditionally I would have been seen as a prime candidate for training by a Traditional Doctor, who are more or less the African equivalents to the Native American Shaman. Not sure if that would be of any good though.

With that said, let's begin!

*The Boys are preparing and being sent screaming to and from Gensokyo, please wait warmly*

qMyon

• Chill - just chill
  • Keepin' it vanilla smooth
Re: Thoughts on Gensokyo
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2012, 02:10:02 PM »
First priority would be getting to a place of relative safety, probably the human village, one of the shrines, or Eientei. Failing any magical potential, you'd have to get some training to survive. What training, however, is beyond me. I seem to remember reading somewhere that outsiders can return to the outside via the Hakurei shrine with the shrine maiden's aid.

Anyway, based on your points,