Author Topic: What do you use to record off Anex86?  (Read 3542 times)

Lunatic_Reimu

• No Bomb Enthusiast
What do you use to record off Anex86?
« on: March 22, 2014, 05:31:08 PM »
Hi fellow maidens :)
Im new to Touhou, and I just did my first Touhou HRtP 1cc on hard, and I figured I really want to keep a memory of all my 1cc playthroughs (especially once I do the Lunatic runs :D). Problem is, Ive been searching everywhere for a good software to be able to record my runs, but cant seem to come across a good one. Im playing on Anex86 with Windows XP. Ive tried around 6 programs, but all gave me problems:

1. Either the recorded video just shows up as a blank screen
2. Or it makes the game too laggy
3. Or else the software could only be installed on Windows Vista and above.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

Karisa

• Extend!
  • High scores are meant to be broken.
Re: What do you use to record off Anex86?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2014, 06:48:20 PM »
I've found Open Broadcaster Software to be effective for recording Touhou. It's actually a streaming program, but there's an option to record to "File Output Only" that you can use.

Previously I used HyperCam 2, but that requires the computer's sound card to have an input option like "Stereo Mix" to record audio directly (as opposed to via a microphone), which apparently has been removed in more recent computers. I found it decent when it worked for me, though.

Sakurei

• Banned
  • Frequently repeated unapologetic hostility
    • My Blog
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2014, 06:57:13 PM »
Some people here on the board (myself and Zil confirmed, maybe other people too) sold our soul to the devil so we could use Fraps to record. That shouldn't work normally, but somehow just does. It's black magic, but maybe it'd work for you as well.