Author Topic: Looking for help with PoFV (mainly Extra Mode)  (Read 4364 times)

Looking for help with PoFV (mainly Extra Mode)
« on: May 19, 2011, 08:09:17 PM »
Hi

I'm looking for advice with PoFV, mostly with Extra Mode. I'm fairly new to the Touhou games (which might be part of my problem), and other than this, I've played EoSD (managed to 1cc easy once with ReimuA, and can consistently get to stage 5 on easy without too much trouble. Normal mode murders me though...) and PCB (I can't even get close to 1ccing easy, sadly.I can get about as far as stage 4, usually up to the boss). With PoFV, I managed to 1cc a good half of the characters in story mode on easy, but Extra Mode brutalises me, to the point I struggle to consistently make it past stage 2. I tried a few runs on story mode on normal (I've tried it with Reimu and Youmu), and can't make it the final stage without 1 continue, and I can't come close to beating it.

I've uploaded a few replays (1 of story mode with Yuka, and the other 4 are various attempts at extra mode) in case I'm doing something very stupid while playing. Given my lack of success on both extra and story normal, I'm guessing I am.
http://replays.gensokyou.org/download.php?id=13802 - Extra Mode 1
http://replays.gensokyou.org/download.php?id=13803 - Extra Mode 2
http://replays.gensokyou.org/download.php?id=13804 - Extra Mode 3
http://replays.gensokyou.org/download.php?id=13805 - Extra Mode 4
http://replays.gensokyou.org/download.php?id=13801 - Story Mode Easy - Yuka

I'd be grateful for any help and/or advice anyone could throw my way.

XephyrEnigma

• :|
  • XephyrEnigma
Re: Looking for help with PoFV (mainly Extra Mode)
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2011, 08:19:05 PM »
The only things i can tell you, are play more. Play MUCH more, and dont be afraid to step up to normal, even if you arent ready. Also, watch your replays and learn from your mistakes.