Author Topic: 不思議の幻想郷 (Fushigi no Gensokyo) Translation Thread  (Read 230601 times)

DennouNeko

• The Cat of Knowledge and Shadow
  • I do some coding and image editing
It's the first of a dungeon RPG game series created by Aquastyle.
Probably most of you know it since it's waiting for English patch for quite some time already. Well, I'm not very good with writing long descriptions, so here's a link to the trailer for those who don't know it yet: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RkWGReD5aNI

So... Who wants to see it translated?
I'd like to ask translators for help with preparing patch for this game. If you want to have it translated properly, I can't do it myself (Japanese level: Can read most of Hiragana/Katakana, can find most of Kanji and knows when google translator produces gibberish).

Before you ask: No, I'm not joking. No, I can't guarantee my sanity. Yes, it's possible.
I can upload the LotusLand.exe and d000.bin in their current states if you wish, but these contain more of a test translations than a proper ones.

Current state.
It's something I was slowly working on for about two weeks or so. Right now it's possible to replace any text in the game scripts. It's even possible to rearrange the order of variables (like swap player name with enemy, etc) or to some extent resize menu elements, but this requires a bit more effort. Same goes with the exe, but it's a bit higher level of magic.

The most difficult part so far was to replace the "Game Over" screen in exe, but it has been done already. There's 7 possible variants (5 cases of collapsing + 2 special ones) and each one of them is prepared for empty map name and/or empty floor number (sample 1, sample 2 and sample 3).
There's also some log messages and menus embedded in the exe, but changing only text is rather easy (like the in-game menu).
3 results of attack also required some code manipulation, but it wasn't as bad as with "Game Over" screen.