Author Topic: What is a good order to play the games?  (Read 5534 times)

What is a good order to play the games?
« on: February 03, 2019, 03:47:22 PM »
I'm a beginner in the touhou series, so far having only done a 1cc run of PCB and IN. So, what should I try next? And if there is a good answer to this, in which order should I play them?
heyo

Re: What is a good order to play the games?
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2019, 10:18:28 PM »
Release order, except for the PC-98 games. Those should be treated as their own thing entirely.

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2019, 10:41:48 PM »
Release order is a pretty good one. EoSD (th6) has no gimmicks so it's good for getting used to the core system, and PCB (th7)/IN (th8) are two of the easiest games in the series so they're good for beginners. Once you get through those 3 you can really play in any order comfortably.

MoF is also pretty easy and has a very unintrusive system. EoSD hasn't aged well at all, so MoF might be a better first game.

I would avoid anything past SA until you've gotten through the earlier games. UFO, TD, DDC, and HSiFS all require a pretty strong understanding of the system, and LoLK is stupidly hard.
« Last Edit: February 03, 2019, 10:44:02 PM by TresserT »
My name is Tres. It sounds like "Tray". Tressert is "Tray-zurt"; like Tres dessert.
I've cleared every touhou game on Lunatic, and beaten every extra except SoEW.
NMNB: MoF Hard, SA Extra, UFO Extra

« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2019, 12:58:46 AM »
I see. Thanks for the help.
heyo

« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2019, 12:07:14 AM »
Having recently gone through 6-16 myself I'd say do them in order. I'd play 6 next. If you like PCB and IN you'll like 6 too, although the lack of a visible hit box is a bit painful. A lot of the stories in the later games tend to be connected too, particularly after 10 so if you're into the story you'll be able to follow it a bit better (not that it makes THAT much of a difference mind you)