Author Topic: Does a game-pad help controlling the game character better?  (Read 4145 times)

Does a game-pad help controlling the game character better?
« on: August 23, 2014, 12:13:40 PM »
I'm not into computer games very much, I have never bought any gaming hardware before and I have zero knowledge about them. On the other hand, I am quite obsessed with Touhou (primarily with EoSD) recently, and I'm very frustrated by the low precision of the keyboard control keys. A tiny touch on a navigation key moves the character more than I want. This makes it harder to dodge especially the Stage 3 spell cards.

My question is, would buying a game pad help making a better game play? As far as I know, game pads have one or two "analog stick" on them. Does it increase precision? Does that analog stick actually allow to move the character more precisely? I watched some playback videos on Youtube; they are definitely not playing with the keyboard since their character move way too smoothly on the screen.

So, would a game pad help? Or, is there any other hardware you would like to suggest to me?

Re: Does a game-pad help controlling the game character better?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2014, 01:02:26 PM »
Are you using the Shift key? If you want any sort of precision, hold Shift, Let go of Shift to make rapid dashes across the screen.
Also if you don't know already, press X to bomb, and hold Ctrl to skip dialogue.

Imo Touhou plays fine with a keyboard, assuming your keyboard isn't bad quality. Touhou controls digitally; an analog stick would make the game harder. However, a gamepad's directional pad (DPAD) is digital and works well with Touhou, and a lot of people prefer it over a keyboard.
I use a keyboard but I edited the controls so that my left hand does movement and my right hand does shooting.
Playing Touhou since 18 March 2012. Playing video games since 19XX.
Normal 1CC: EoSD, PCB, IN, PoFV, MoF, SA, UFO, TD, DDC, HSiFS, CtC.