Author Topic: I need a keyboard or something  (Read 10764 times)

Zil

I need a keyboard or something
« on: October 20, 2012, 07:35:02 PM »
I considered putting this in Tech Support, but figured this place might be more appropriate.

So basically, my keyboard sucks. If I press the buttons too fast, the character doesn't move. I top of that, it does the whole ghosting thing sometimes, or whatever you call it. I've already heard some advice about better keyboards, but I figured I'd just ask HME in general and see what people say. Basically I'm looking for something without those problems I just mentioned. I think it would also be good if the keys are relatively flat (not a lot of meaningless distance between being pressed and not pressed), and not spaced far apart, but I'm no expert. (Another, somewhat unimportant but kind of useful, thing would be if pressing up and down at the same time makes you move down, but maybe that just depends on the game itself and not the hardware.)

Alternatively, I've been considering trying to play with a controller instead of a keyboard. It seems to me like it might be harder to change directions quickly with a controller, but maybe it's easier to make small movements? I've never tried so I'm not really sure. (I could always just play PCB with the controller and PoDD with the keyboard if that's the case.) On the other hand, I think they might make it easier to alternate between moving up and down, which is a horrible weakness of the keyboard. In any event, since all I can really do at the moment is speculate, can anyone say just what the advantages/disadvantages of controllers are supposed to be, and whether or not they'd be worth using in the long run?

Re: I need a keyboard or something
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 07:50:18 PM »
Playing with a laptops default keyboard is a nightmare, you are crazy for doing what you have done on something like that.