Author Topic: GENSOKYO HIGH SPEED DREAM, a 東方Eurobeat album [FREE]  (Read 4238 times)

GENSOKYO HIGH SPEED DREAM, a 東方Eurobeat album [FREE]
« on: May 11, 2018, 02:26:12 PM »
hello people! recently i released my first touhou arrangement album. previous to that i released single track arrangements on soundcloud, but for a whole album this is my first time.
i'd really like to hear some thoughts on it. whether you guys like it or not, whether i should continue with this style or go further with the experiments.
i actually started to fiddle around with touhou eurobeat arrangements a year ago and with a lot of trial and error i slowly came to this sound design.
so please, enjoy it! and if you don't enjoy it, tell me why!

https://zetoban.bandcamp.com/album/gensokyo-high-speed-dream

Z_A

Re: GENSOKYO HIGH SPEED DREAM, a 東方Eurobeat album [FREE]
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2018, 06:29:21 PM »
Hi!

It's a pleasure to meet someone who likes Touhou x Eurobeat just like me. I wish you the best of luck with your music.

About this album. In my opinion, it sounds sort of... unbalanced, maybe? Let me try and elaborate.

1. Flowering night. Nice, but... the original composition is already somewhat close to dance music. Then again, there's already the Night of Nights out there. What I'm trying to say is - for a more unique sound, you definitely need to move much further away from the original and add more of the Eurobeat tricks. Still, it's an okay arrange, I like it.
2. 3rd Eye. Not much of Eurobeat there, actually - it's part Eurobeat, part something else (sorry, I'm not good in all those other dance music genres). However, I have to admit, it's rather difficult to arrange this song to Eurobeat, due to its nature. You tried, though =)
3. Alice of Meiji. Good. It wouldn't hurt to add some more exciting drum parts, though.
4. Ancients. Perfect.